Why am I joining Quizizz?

Sandeep Bantia
2 min readFeb 1, 2022

--

Empower Every Teacher to Motivate Every Learner

I’m bullish on web3 and what it will do to computing going forward. While I’m super excited about how early we are in web3 and how much more there is to be done, we are pretty early in the web2 journey as well.

To that end, I’m thrilled to announce that I’m joining Ankit, Deepak and the team at Quizizz as VP Engineering on the journey to become the preferred Operating System for teachers across the world, to create engaging and meaningful content to motivate every learner. Being a parent has made me realize how much education has evolved over the years. I’ve seen the challenges in keeping my kids (middle and elementary schoolers) motivated and engaged using traditional teaching methods. And that’s why building a product that makes it delightful for teachers to engage students is a dream. And to do it at scale is next level.

As I’ve interacted with the team over the last 4 months, I’ve been beyond impressed to see a small team building a product that has 75 million monthly active users with 2 billion monthly responses. Furthermore, teachers are willing to pay out of pocket to use our products in their classrooms. The team has achieved this by spending $0 on marketing — product lead growth entirely driven by word of mouth.

The people are some of the most humble I’ve come across right from Ankit and Deepak. I can feel the entire team continuing to stay humble, hungry and curious. Over the last 4 months, we’ve had numerous discussions and disagreeing has been easy. It has always dictated by getting to the best answer for the organization.

The Engineering team has been solving some hard and challenging problems not only on the backend, but on the frontend as well. There are ~1 billion events flowing through our systems in a day and thousands of participants engaging in live real time experiences. We are just getting started and together we want to take it to the next level in building amazing products powered by solving deep technical problems in distributed systems, data, machine learning and modern frontend platforms.

This new year for me is about striving to write a beautiful next chapter — I’m beyond excited to play a small part in writing the next chapter in the Quizizz story, which will be a big part of my chapter for 2022 and beyond.

Going forward, I plan to share learnings and missteps on our journey of continuing to scale our products and our organization. Reach out to me at sandeep@quizizz.com for a chat or just to say hi.

PS: Check us out here, if you are curious!

--

--

Sandeep Bantia

eng @quizizz, alum: product and eng @openhouse, eng at @uber and @microsoft